Members of the family herpesviridae are found in a wide range of host systems. To date, at least seven different species are known to infect man, including herpes simplex virus (HSV); cytomegalovirus (CMV), varicella zoster (VZV); and Epstein Barr virus (EBV).

Division of Medical Virology

About the Division

The Division of Medical Virology is supported by the University of Cape Town and National Health Laboratory Service (NHLS).  It contributes to the diagnosis, treatment, prevention and eradication of viral diseases in South Africa through a diagnostic laboratory service together with a dynamic research and teaching programme.